Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 22

Sadly, this quarter’s Botox treatment has not proved to be very effective. Usually, I notice an immediate improvement in my dystonic sysmptoms, but this time around, the impact has (so far) been minimal.

However, in spite of this, things could be worse.

Actually, the worst problem that I have is a persistent stiffness in my left hip, which needs constant ‘nursing’ with stretching exercises. Failure to do this turns me into the Clothes Peg Rider: rigid, inflexible and wooden.

Our part of Somerset continues to be water-logged. The ground either has standing water on it or is gloopy. All the school horses are banished from the fields at the moment, so no hacking. This week has brought some improvement in the weather, with the sun finally coming out. Spring’s in the air.

So, with riding restricted to the indoor school, what can you do to keep a horse-crazed nine year old and and twisted (physically), flatwork queen happy, at the same time?

First off, get the child jumping. In the last few weeks, the Offspring has definitely made improvements and is now confidently jumping small uprights. Our joint instructor keeps tempting me to do this, but I’ve backed off from it, as I thought it more prudent to wait until Botox got my twisted neck under control before starting on this again! Therefore, I have contented myself with doing the polework exercises, but not the jumps.

Secondly, we continue to use Pony Club games as a bit of light relief. And as a means of encouraging the child to think about control. I must look a bit of a plank doing this, but actually, who cares? The Offspring absolutely loves it and, having changed to a faster pony, she’s giving me a run for my money. Fortunately, she’s not as adept at turning tight corners or changing speed as I am, so she hasn’t managed to beat me. Yet. It’s only a matter of time.

So, where am I going with it all at the moment? Back on trusty Tosca, I aim to do the next school competition at the end of March. I’ve managed to keep my attendance at the gym going (some weeks better than others), so I hope my fitness is getting back on track. Probably need to cut down on the chocolate consumption, but it all adds up to small steps in the right direction. I knew that this would take a long time.

Have a good week.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dressage, Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

