Team DG Finds It’s Mojo

imageThis morning, the Offspring and I set off for the stables, with a less than sprightly step. Normally, it’s our favourite place to be, but with me haunted by the dreadful experience of a few weeks ago (otherwise known as the Bad Riding Day) and the child slightly worried about our instructor (who seems to have got rather ‘shouty’ with her recently, for reasons unknown), our hooves were dragging.

“At least you’re not going to get shouted at”, commented the Offspring, rather gloomily, as we neared the yard. “Why does she have to shout?” Good question. Why?

As we parked the car, the sun came out. Hurrah! Suddenly, everything looked ten times better. You could almost hear the trees sigh with relief at the respite from the wet.

We collected our equine buddies and rode like our breeches were on fire.

All to the sound of (relative) silence.

Result.

[picture credit ???. If this is yours, please contact me and I will credit or remove.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Horse Riding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Team DG Finds It’s Mojo

  1. I had a shouty instructor as a young child. It wasn’t until I had a calmer, quieter trainer that I even realized how tense it made me. Perhaps there are others for whom loud instruction is helpful. I learn best from an instructor who explains why we are doing what we are doing. Glad you got some sunshine riding in!

    • Hi there! Yes, the techniques employed to teach children (and many adults) are quite variable in quality and effectiveness. I think you’re right about the tension thing….the instructor was much calmer this week and my girl rode really well….I’m sure there’s a connection. Plus all that stress just gets passed on to the horse/pony, who will respond to this as well. It’s obvious really, but I hadn’t really thought about it.
      Thanks for commenting.
      Best wishes
      DG

Leave a Reply

