7-4

imageWell, the last few weeks have been a right old pickle.

Having written about the lovely Christmas Day we had, the Family Unit went into meltdown. The Offspring produced a sky high temperature which refused to respond to any form of childish medication. The husband went down with chronic bronchitis and I added to the mix with a flu-like virus which left me wishing that I’d bothered to pick up the phone and book that flu vaccination. Between Boxing Day and New Year’s Day, no one ventured out of bed except to procure industrial quantities of antibiotics. Doh!

Anyway, enough of such boring stuff and on to something far more interesting. Horses.

Last week, in an attempt to cheer ourselves up after all the illness, I suggested that we abandon any form of training or schooling and concentrate on … Pony Club games.

This turned into an absolute riot.

The Offspring is fiercely competitive and the prospective of whopping mummy was almost unbearably exciting.

After six runs at various speeds, mummy was in the lead. 6-0. The Offspring was nearly beside herself. In an attempt to even the odds, our instructor stretched out my course. This meant that Tosca and I had to fly round those crates and, boy we did!

However, it all started to go wrong when the Offspring suggested that we have “slowest” wins contests. Crazy or what. As Tosca was going at 200mph, this left me doing figure of eights in the middle of the course. The final race required us to leap off our horse/pony and run with them back to the start.

What I must have looked like is anyone’s guess, but heavens, did we have fun.

Final score? 7-4 to mummy, pending a steward’s enquiry.

[Picture credit ???. If this is yours, please contact me and I will credit or remove. Thanks.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Horse Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7-4

  1. DG, I so enjoy your colorful writing style. It’s always lovely to see people writing about life beyond Dystonia. -Pamela-

    • Thanks Pamela. Lovely to hear from you.

      It’s funny – when I started to write this blog, I saw it as a space where I would be able to go to moan about how unfair things were, but strangely I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. This strange disorder has actually been an eye opener in ways I never expected.

      Now everyone’s pretty much stopped being sick I’ve got a lot of blogging to catch up on.
      Best wishes,
      DG

Leave a Reply

