Catching Up

imageAt last, the Christmas holidays are nearly here.

Work was crazy during December, severely curtailing reading and writing activities.

Time to start catching up.

I’m just hoping that my late night purchasing of Christmas presents have proved to be … sensible. I have nightmare visions of my frail, elderly female relatives opening socket sets and, more robust, male family members receiving flowers. Well, it’s too late now.

Just the food to go.

Fortunately, this is not something that I ever get involved in. Many years ago, I was deemed far too incompetent to cook Christmas lunch and was ignominiously relegated to the position of kitchen porter over Christmas. Having got very huffy about this, I put my nose in the air and …. got the marigolds out.

Merry Christmas.

[Picture credit ???. If this is yours, please contact me and I will credit or remove. Thank you.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching Up

  1. *Chortle* – I was never smart enough to think of being inept in the kitchen consequently Christmas food is a complete nightmare, a nerve-wracking experience. One day I plan to escape to a foody hotel in Ireland for Christmas where I will sit by a roaring log fire with a sherry in my hand and my new DuBarry boots firmly on the flagged floor after a bracing … but not long … walk.

    • I always was a rotten cook. My husband likes to tell stories of my attempts to “do a cooked breakfast”. He also finds it hilarious that I managed to set fire to a jacket potato in a microwave. The child uses my efforts to make chicken casserole as comic material in her drama lessons. So, it’s probably safer for everyone if I don’t go near the kitchen until it’s time to wash up. Lord knows what I’d do with a turkey! Whatever it was there would only be two outcomes: Ashes or food poisoning.
      I like the sound of a nice foody hotel in Ireland… I could escape the washing up too. Hope the knee’s coming on well (Dubarry boots should help)
      Best wishes
      DG

Leave a Reply

