Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 20.

imageLast night, I finally reached ‘base camp’ in my uphill trek to return to competitive riding – A rossette! Yes, finally screwed up the courage to enter a competition and got placed. Hurrah!

I realise that to write about this seems rather boastful, but as I sit staring at my pink ribbons (tastefully arranged on the Christmas tree), I consider what this means to me.

Firstly. Not bad to get 5th out of 14, first time out, in an open competition. I put away all my previous rosettes when I stopped competing last year (after dystonia took a grip). Hopefully, this is the start of “refilling the shelf”.

Secondly, when I look back to how I was in the Spring, with my neck so badly twisted that I had to shut my eyes and ride by feel, it’s a flipping miracle.

Thirdly, whilst it’s true to say that I have worked hard to get here, I couldn’t have done any of it without the Family Unit. Thanks guys!

So, what next? Get in the gym and keep going!

Merry Christmas everyone.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dressage, Dystonia, Horse Riding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 20.

  1. Merry Christmas and congratulations! It’s so much more than just a ribbon with all the commitment to improvement, making time to ride and practice, overcoming the physical difficulties…it looks great on the tree!
    Happy Holidays 🙂

    • Hi Aspire. Thank you so much. Not just for commenting, but for your kind words and suggestions over recent months. My neurologist is talking about the possibility of my condition stabilising at the moment, which is great. I’ve just got to get on with things as fast as possible now, in case things worsen. My riding position still looks scary (to me) and I reckon I’m at least a year away from this staightening out, but a year’s not that long.
      Thanks again.
      Have a lovely Christmas.
      DG

Leave a Reply

