Lewis Collins

imageI was strangely saddened to hear that Lewis Collins had died yesterday.

Try as I might, I just can’t see him as anything other than his alter ego, William Bodie. A character for whom I entertained a certain affection. He spent every night on sentry duty in my room, for years. Always regarding me with humorous eyes from his tactical, but paper thin, vantage point on the wall.

Of course, I justified my unrequited love of this ex-SAS sergeant and mercenary, by remembering his supposed great love of English Literature.

Sadly, other people must have suffered the same psychological block re: Bodie, and poor Mr. Collins was doomed to a an acting career which would never need to include more words than “Grenade” or “I think I got him, Sir”. But then other actors have made their fortunes by becoming “professional soldiers”. Look at Ed Harris.

Bond briefly beckoned, and he probably would have made a good Bond, but the great Broccoli said “No”, which closed off that avenue.

So, what’s his legacy other than a life sized poster on a child’s bedroom wall?

A smile and a stirring of the past. That’s worth a lot.

[Picture credit ???. If this is yours, please contact me and I will credit or remove. Thank you.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

