Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 19

imageFinally. Managed to get a lunge lesson today.  I’ve suggested this to different instructors at different times and all have backed away from it. And I’m totally at a loss to understand why.

Do instructors think that clients will be offended in some way? Are clients offended if it is suggested, then if so why?

I’ve been riding, on and off, for more years than I care to think about and I still believe that lunge lessons are invaluable. In my case, I now battle all sorts of postural issues (which change daily) thanks to dystonia, but even if I didn’t have this rare disorder, I’d still say, “Bring out the lunge” once in a while.

So why is this so beneficial?

Riders, good and bad, all develop bad habits, from time to time. In my case, I’ve suddenly started riding with my hands too low. Why? Who knows, but the question is, how do you fix it? Just ten minutes on the lunge today, combined with the arena mirrors giving me instant visual feedback and voila, problem solved. The lunge approach gives the rider a means of targeting (and fixing) problem areas, quickly.

I plan to do this again, just to reinforce ‘doing the right thing’. Added bonuses today? Taking reins and stirrups away so you really do have to use your seat properly. Hurrah! More please.

So, if you think being on the lunge is for children, total numpties and old folks. Think again. If you need a speedy, and therefore, cost effective ‘quick fix’ session, don’t be embarrassed and say the words,

“Could I have a lunge lesson, please?”

Have a good week.

[Picture credit ??? If this is yours, please contact me and I will credit or remove. Thank you.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dressage, Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 19

  1. Such a great post and glad you got some little issues sorted – lunge lessons are severely underrated!
    All the best,
    Wiola

Leave a Reply

