Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 18

imageBack in the saddle this week, after a couple of weeks’ absence. Boy, it’s good to be back! There’s no doubt that riding, reduces my stress levels.

Or it would if the Offspring didn’t do crazy things (I haven’t written about some of our more recent exploits.) … Suffice to say that the Offspring is ‘off’ the cantankerous, unpredictable Snowy and ‘on’ the more amenable Barney.

Anyway, moving swiftly on.

And on, in fact, to two small,  but highly significant miracles.

Miracle Number 1. The DVLA have agreed to let me keep my driving licence. So, we are now doing short trips in the car. Having not driven for so long, I’d forgotten how nice it is. Yesterday, I drove us to the stables for the first time in nine months. Brilliant.

Miracle Number 2. This week, I have noticed amazing improvements in my ability to control my head whilst riding. This week, I have been trotting on the right rein and turning my head to the right, which is unbelievable.

Frankly, I’m still in shock over this. Add to this, some steps of leg yield (with my head straight) and you start to think that miracles really might be possible. I’ve just had this quarter’s Botox treatment, so it will be interesting to see how long this effect lasts.

This improvement means that I’ve got to ‘re-learn’ to align myself with the horse, whilst not losing what I’ve learnt about riding by feel. I’ve been so overjoyed about this new found ability to look right, that I’ve been riding with my head ‘right’ all the time!

So, is a competition a possibility? Since signing up to compete online, I’ve had no luck in getting both access to an arena and someone to record the test. Invariably, I’ve ended up with one or the other, which has not been helpful.

Therefore, I think I will have to forget this for the moment and try my hand at the regular competitions run by the riding school. I was trying to avoid this, as I was worried about how I looked. However, if the Botox holds out, I plan an entry in the December competition.

I did quite well in this last year (my last, before deciding to call it a day), so it will be a huge boost, if I can just make it back into the arena. Regardless of the result.

The upside to doing this particular competition is that it tends to be a bit more relaxed (you can enter in fancy dress) and even if it goes horribly wrong, it can’t be as bad as what happened to one rider last year. This poor person misheard the person calling the test, took a wrong turn and finished with her horse’s bottom pointing at the judge.

The Offspring commiserated, by laughing so much that she fell off her seat in the spectators’ gallery. That’s children for you.

I’ll keep that thought firmly in my mind.

Have a good week.

[picture credit ? If this picture is yours, please let me know and I will credit or remove. Thank you.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 18

  1. Pingback: “Busy hands syndrome” and how to work on it… « NewsBook by Aspire Equestrian Riding Academy

Leave a Reply

