Jack the Giant Slayer

image

“Fee-fi-fo-fum,
I smell the blood of an Englishman,
Be he alive, or be he dead
I’ll have his bones to grind my bread.”

Personally, I’m not a great fan of fairy tales, so when the Offspring suggested we watch Jack the Giant Slayer, I didn’t leap off the sofa to load the disc into the DVD player.

The basic problem with fairy tales is their propensity for extreme violence and even with a low rated BBFC rating, I assumed that I would not be finding the experience enjoyable.

The actuality proved to be quite different.

A faithful old horse, who put in a gallop that would have shamed a steeplechaser, attracted my interest and had the family cheering as he made it to safety.

A hero in the grown up shape of ‘that boy’ from About A Boy, proved to be entertaining and unassuming. Ewan McGregor was … in Star Wars mode, but still delivered value for money as Captain of the King’s Guard. Especially when a giant cook was trying to turn him into a sausage roll. Good old Ian McShane looked suitably regal as he strutted about in impossibly impractical gold armour.

Inevitably, CGI played a starring role in turning the giants into a suitably nasty rabble, but the people and green screens worked seamlessly to good effect.

The nice twist, came at the end with a scene at the Tower of London, but I’ll say no more about this, in case you’d like to see it.

Overall? 7/10. Better than expected, but I think I’m on my own in saying this. It wasn’t a great success for Legendary Pictures, who allegedly lost over $125M on this bedtime story.

Enjoy.

[Picture credit ???. If this picture is yours please contact me and I will remove or credit appropriately.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Films and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack the Giant Slayer

  1. Good to know, some movies my kids take me to see are horrid, especially the sequels! Great review.

    • Hello. And thank you. Yes, as an adult, sitting through children’s films can be a very trying experience. I’m still traumatised by my last enounter with “Alvin and the Chipmunks”. Fortunately, my daughter has graduated on to super heroes and anything with weapons in it. No doubt a sad indictment on me, as a parent, but it’s still better than those blasted squeaky rodents! Thanks for stopping by.
      Best wishes
      DG

Leave a Reply

