Seinfeld

imageLast night, I indulged in a secret passion. Yes folks, I got control of the TV remote, fired up Sky Atlantic and what did I find?

Seinfeld. Wunderbar.

What is it about this “show about nothing” that keeps you coming back for more?

Clothes and hair have dated horribly. Did people really look like that in the nineties? Even worse, did I look like that? (Editors note: Yes, you did. The bald head thing never looked good.). But the writing remains fresh and sparkly.

Scenes with the four main characters always seem more like successful improvisation sessions than set pieces.

It looks easy. It feels right.

Try this for size:

Cosmo Kramer: The bus is outta control. So I grab him by the collar, I take him out of the seat, I get behind the wheel, and now I’m driving the bus.
Jerry: Wow.
George Costanza: You’re Batman.
Cosmo Kramer: Yeah, yeah, I am Batman. Then the mugger, he comes to and he starts choking me. So I’m fighting him off with one hand and I kept driving the bus with the other, ya know. Then I managed to open up the door and I kicked him out the door, ya know, with my foot, ya know, at the next stop.
Jerry: You kept making all the stops?
Cosmo Kramer: Well, people kept ringing the bell!

Fab.

Greatest episode? Season 3, The Parking Garage. But ask me tomorrow and I’ll pick something else.

Never come across Jerry, Elaine, George and Kramer before? Hot foot down to Amazon and get the DVD boxed sets.

You’ll be in for a treat.

Picture credit:
http://www.sonypictures.com/tv/shows/seinfeld/

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

