The Poetry Foundation

T S EliotI may as well state at once that poetry has never ‘done anything for me’ and consequently, my liking for it has been strictly limited to oeuvres such as: The Highwayman (Alfred Noyes), The Listeners (Walter de la Mare) and Sea Fever (John Masefield). Clearly, I never got much past secondary school level in this area.

And here comes the but. And what a but.

Some weeks ago, I found The Poetry Foundation. These wonderful people describe themselves as: “… An independent literary organisation committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture…”. What a sublime objective.

After cautiously poking around their excellent website, I came across The Wasteland (T. S. Eliot) and I thought, “Read a bit or go and find Horse and Hound?” Well, yes, I did go and dig up H & H, but only after I’d read the first verse.

Thoughts?

Frankly, amazed. I liked it.

Therefore, rather than kill off this tiny spark of new born appreciation by trying to blast through the whole thing, I’ve decided to read the rest very, very slowly over the next few weeks.

I hope I stick with it, it seems too good to miss.

Want to find out more?
The Poetry Foundation:
http://www.poetryfoundation.org

[Picture credit: The Poetry Foundation]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Literature, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

