Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 13

The laughing horse. Tosca enjoys a treat.

The laughing horse. Tosca enjoys a treat.

Actually, ‘Progress Report’ is a bit of a misnomer this week, as I’ve made no progress at all. Absolute zero.

Health issues continue to be annoying distractions and my GP has now suggested that I have a ‘lung problem’, which is new. Well, that would explain my sudden inability to breathe when cantering last week! So, hospital on Monday, for my chest to be x-rayed followed by … hospital on Thursday to take part in a project to get new physio services set up for dystonia patients like me.

In spite of all of the above, I managed to get down to the riding school today. The plan was to have a lesson in walk and accept my current limitations! However, by the time I got down to big Harry’s (17.3hh) stable, I was wheezing, and even I thought, “No, this isn’t a good plan”. Oh flip!

So, my opportunity to be one of those horrific parents who stand by the side of the arena and bellow instructions at their children, then? Definitely not. I behaved myself and enjoyed the sight of my girl getting the wily Snowy to do trot-canter-trot transitions. Not bad kiddo.

The child and instructor then headed off into the fields and poor mummy staggered along behind, to the edge of the yard, before leaving them to it.

It took me ages to get back to the car, as I had to chat and pat all my equine buddies. Tosca’s back (hurrah!). Couldn’t resist giving her treats as she loves these and always does her horsey laugh as a thank you.

Collapsed in the car to wait for the Offspring, who appeared half an hour later with a big grin on her face, “I fell off”. Oh. Someone had let the school’s big flock of geese into the field, just as the Offspring and Snowy were coming in. Snowy spooked and the child went off sideways.

Looks like we need:
– Body protector for child. Urgent.
– New body for me. Not likely to be a viable option in the next few weeks, but I live in hope that the mighty NHS will be able to put me back together.

Have a good week.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Horse Riding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

