Vogue

imageToday, I bought a copy of Vogue magazine (UK, September 2013 edition). So, what’s unusual about that, you might ask?

I stopped buying Vogue some years ago, as I felt the editorial quality had slipped, the photography was poor and the whole ‘package’ had lost it’s way, copied and overtaken by other monthly glossies.

This was not an easy decision, as I’d been a loyal connoisseur of it’s monthly offerings since a seminal issue in 1979. My collection was so vast (I ‘curated’ American Vogue too, which I still love) that my parents had laughingly considered moving house to accommodate its growing scale and, to be frank, weight.

Eventually, after pleas from my mother, I was forced to move the whole collection to my home (aren’t children selfish?). And shortly after this, I succumbed to financial incentives from a dealer, who offered to buy every issue I owned.

Looking back now and thinking about those first issues; Vogue in China et al, what photography! Showing beautiful clothes, beautifully.

1979 still rates, in my view, as one of it’s best years.

September 2013? Still got some catching up to do.

[Picture credit: Vogue.co.uk]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

