Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 11

20x60m Arena

20x60m Arena

Today, I planned to record a dressage test.  However, as ever, one gets overtaken by events.

First problem. Trusty Tosca has been packed off on holiday for two weeks.  Fair play, she deserves it. I just wish I’d known. Never mind. Barney, the replacement, seemed an amiable beastie.

Second problem. I always find it takes me a week to get to know a new horse. It’s a bit like driving a new car. Everything feels a bit odd and is in different place: “The gear stick puts oil into the ashtray on this model”. Oh, really?

Third problem. Lovely husband co-opted to help sort out the boards/letters which form an extra dressage arena, in the field. As he does not care for equine activities, I fear this made him a trifle grumpy, especially as:
a) He’d had to drive me, plus child to lesson, rather than have a nice lie-in bed this morning.
b) He’d also offered to do video thing.
What can I say except, “Sorry” and “Thank you. Couldn’t do it without you.”

So, all in all, not an auspicious start.

After spending some time getting used to Barney, we set off out to the field to try the test.

In spite of my previous blog post, which highlighted that the Botox A treatment I’d had during the week, has helped, I’m still twisted round to the left. So, test attempts are never going to be easy. And I proved that this morning! As I passed my husband who was standing at ‘C’, I said “Don’t bother recording this, it’s terrible.” So, off he went, back to the car.

I really wish he’d stayed.

My second attempt was a big improvement.

So, what have I learnt from this?

  • Don’t get freaked by the sight of that empty 20 x 40m space. It’s a great place to show off what you and your horse have managed to achieve. And be proud of that.
  • Practise. Essential.
  • Today, was the first time I’ve managed to do, and complete a test of any kind, since my illness started. I need to learn to be patient with myself and accept that I need to practise more than I used to do.

I would still like to enter an on-line competition before the end of August. This would be helpful on two counts. Firstly, it would allow me to assess the amount of work I need to do before each entry and secondly, it would give me a benchmark test result, for improvement.

I’d like to think that there’s a red rosette with my name on it, sometime. I just don’t know when, but I’m guessing it’s a long way off.

Patience, girl. Patience.

[public domain image courtesy of Wikipedia.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dressage, Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 11

  1. jamieadams22 says:

    Ohhh, that patience. Not easy to come by, but so very needed. Be proud that you’re out there working though- that’s what makes all the difference.

  2. Hi DG, keep on it and don’t worry about what you get on video at the beginning, you can always delete it. I tell my virtual coaching clients who write saying “it was so bad, I didn’t want to send it today” that every piece of video is a great lesson. Sometimes that bit which felt like “wish it wasn’t on video” can give you some important clues on how to correct certain things. There are also times when something feels awful but is half decent when you watch it. Body awareness can be deceiving. I am keeping everything crossed for your next attempt and hope your trusty Tosca is back soon, refreshed and eager to cooperate.
    All the best,
    Wiola

    • Thanks Wiola. I quite agree about the value of recording, as there’s always something to learn. Video recording is the way to go, even if you have mirrors. I think I’m now Just very sensitive to the whole thing, after my last shock of it showing me how twisted I’d become. However, I am going to do this again and I will keep at it. My instructor has agreed to do this for me, which is great.
      Thanks for your comments.
      Best wishes
      DG

Leave a Reply

