A New Charging System For Taxis?

imageThe school holidays are in full swing and this means that No. 1 daughter needs to spend the day with a childminder, while I go to work.

As I’m not driving at the moment (Dystonia bends my neck to the left. Most inconvenient.) and poor public transport connectivity reduces our options for getting where we need to be, we have to take taxis for all, or part, of our weekly journeys.

Now, I’m very glad that a) these services exist, and, b) I have (just about) enough funds to pay for them.

But, can I stand the mental torture that every journey entails, as a result of being a captive audience for the driver?

Our morning trip takes about 30 minutes, starting at 08:15am.
Does any reasonable person want to hear about a complete strangers’ money problems/health problems/family problems/boring job etc. etc. etc., that early in the morning?

If these topics of conversation dry up, then there’s always the impertinent, “So what’s wrong with you, then?”. Thanks for that. Very tactful. Not.

So, here’s my idea.

Let’s abandon paying or cabs/taxis by distance and pay, based on a customer satisfaction scale, starting with:

“I’m sorry, you’re a boring oaf and some of your remarks are, frankly, offensive”. Cab driver pays penalty fee of £5 to passenger.

Through to …

“Thank you cabby. You were punctual, polite and made me laugh”. Passenger pays reasonable fee, plus handsome ‘entertainment’ premium.

Apologies to any taxi drivers’ out there, but I’m still traumatised by this morning’s encounter with one of your colleagues. I would say we had a conversation, but that’s clearly the wrong word, as he talked at me, without pause, for the entire journey. He made everyone else look like an amateur in the cab driver bore-athon. By a million miles.

I’ll be glad to get back to the bus.

Picture courtesy of Wolverhampton City Council website.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, transport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

