Horse Riding and Dystonia. Progress Report 10

Can I come out to play?  The dishevelled, red rocket looks cute.

Can I come out to play? The dishevelled, red rocket looks cute.

Tosca and I continue to make small improvements each week. Sometimes these are tiny, sometimes not so tiny. But all the time I think, “This week I’m another small step closer to achieving my goal”. I always take heart from the positive things we’ve done and just try and learn from our many, and varied, mistakes.

Today, was my last day riding before my Botox treatment on Tuesday. Hoping that things will improve after this, today was taken as a bit of a ‘holiday’, before I start getting some definite competition dates down in the diary.

Tosca was pretty fired up this morning. The slightest squeeze was translated as “You want to canter? Well, so do I. So hold on to your hat” and bang, we were off. Good thing, I was in the arena. Normally, this wouldn’t bother me to much, but being nearly crippled, with poor right side vision and my left side vision also slightly compromised, it made for an exciting morning.

Loved it though!

As Tosca had some energy to burn, we practised … cantering, but at different speeds. Got her down to trot speed, in canter, as last week. We also tried trotting down the centre line and cantering from X, to check that she was going off on the correct lead, which she mostly did on the left rein. Few stumbles on the right, but pretty good, on the whole.

As Tosca has made some massive improvements on her old problem of falling out of canter after about 20m, (no problems this morning!) she may actually be a reasonable bet for a Prelim. test now. My husband plans to video some of my schooling, after Tuesday, to see if things look any better, so we’ll see. My riding position today can’t have been a pretty sight!

As I said last week, I need to work on getting fitter, as a priority now.

Just got to keep going.

Have a great week.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dressage, Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

