Sea Fever

Empty.

Empty.

“I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky.
And all I ask, is a tall ship and a star to steer her by…”
Sea Fever, John Masefield

Yesterday morning, it rained heavily. Not the usual, tropical downpour, but proper, British rain.

I went out on the beach and not surprisingly, it was empty. Just me, in my cagoule and a miserable looking life guard (in full wet weather gear, including wellingtons. Not something you see every day, in Mexico).

I love the sea, in all weathers. So, I stood looking at the empty ocean and the wild sky. And for the first time, I understood why people would want to own a yacht. Freedom. Pure and simple.

It also set me thinking about Donald Crowhurst and his final days of madness. All that emptiness on the horizon. Easy to see why a lone sailor might lose it. Or come out a hero.

Sea fever.  A dangerous condition.

[Editor’s Note: just noticed that my photos are developing a bit of a ‘list’. I think that this is because I am now due for Dystonia treatment, which I won’t be able to have for some weeks, so my muscles are starting to twist more. Well, this seems like a good excuse, for poor photography.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Photography, Seaside and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

