Far From The Madding Crowd

No picture with this post, because that would mean I’ve got to get up and look for the camera. Well,… I am on holiday.

Far From The Madding Crowd sits firmly in my list of favourite re-reads. Every time I pick it up, it provokes a different response, which in my universe means it’s a good book.

Initial thoughts, this time around:

Bathsheba. I just think “hysterical”. Come on, woman! You’re running a farm. Stop being a wuss and give Troy a boot up the arse.

Boldwood. My favourite character. Deep, dark and brooding. Complex. And psychotic. Love him.

Troy. A weak man. All mouth and no trousers. By the end of the book, who isn’t willing Boldwood to get that gun down off the wall and blast him to eternity?

Oak. A good man. Suitable counterweight to the other mayhem.

Assorted Wessex yokels. Always think that Hardy was pinching these guys from Shakespearian comedy, but ultimately, likeable folk.

If you’ve never tried Thomas Hardy before, take a look. Personally, I’ve always stuck to the books. I couldn’t get on with the poetry.

But, never say never.

[Note to self. Need to start thinking about doing proper book reviews. Like other people do. That’s going to mean getting the old brain, to think. Oh.]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Far From The Madding Crowd

  1. I’m a real Hardy fan as well, DG … and FFTMC is one of my all time favourites … mainly I have to say thanks to the film with Alan Bates as Gabriel Oak. They have been inseparable in my mind ever since and I know that dates me but who cares.

    • Hi Angie. Yes, that film is excellent. One of my favourites, in fact.
      I think I’m going to try and do some digging on Mr. Hardy. I’ve always read the books and not really paid much attention to him. Which seems a bit remiss. My mum was a massive fan. When we took her to the cottage where he was born, she burst into tears when she saw his room. That’s the power of a great writer.
      Best Wishes
      DG

      • Oh, he was a strange sort of cove. I’ve been to Higher Bockhampton in Dorset … walked there through the woods that he used to walk through as a boy to get to school.
        I’ve read his biog. twice and I must say that considering he wrote his novels mostly from a female perspective (Tess of the D’Urbervilles is my favourite) he was a bit of a curmudgeon with both his wives.

        You must read his biog and let me know what you think.

      • I’ll look out for his biog. That sounds great.
        Best wishes,
        DG

Leave a Reply

