Graffiti or Art?

Predator

Predator

As I walk, walk, walk around the town with a camera at the ready, I’ve started to realise that there is an exceptional artist at work.  I’ve found interesting and well executed pictures, in unusual places, on the streets.

I found the picture with this post, down a side street, off the main thoroughfare. A full size Darth Vader, paintbrush in hand, lurks in another unloved part of the town (this will be going up on DGEye.wordpress.com, shortly). And I now pass another interesting composition when I’m on the bus, but I’ll need a car to get to photograph that one.

These pictures have made me think again about graffiti.

Nine times out of ten, I would say ‘criminal damage’. And frankly, if I woke up one morning and found a life size picture of a Predator painted on my wall, I would be exceptionally cross.

However, these are very good …

Therefore, I’ve decided to assume that artist got permission first. Then I can enjoy them for what they are.

Something out of the ordinary in our bland urban landscape.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Photography, Urban Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

