A New Gadget

A Donkey Has Breakfast

A Donkey Has Breakfast

This week, I’ve been lucky enough to receive a camera for my birthday.  This was very timely, as I’ve found it really difficult to find good, and let’s face it, free pictures and photos with which to decorate my blog posts. The implication here being that I now intend to do all my own pictures.

Well, in the words of Jeremy Clarkson, “How hard can it be?”.

Actually, quite hard.

Due to the fact that I am not driving at the moment, I spend a huge amount of time on public transport and walking. My simple brain suggested that I should carry the camera at all times, and snap away when something interesting came up.

First problem. I didn’t realise how self conscious this would make me feel. Which is ridiculous considering how I walk around with a bent neck and a bright pink shopping trolley. Short of banging a drum, there’s not much else I can do to make myself more conspicuous. So why get freaked by the camera?

Second problem. Dogs. Having decided to take a picture of the very attractive wild plants growing near my house, dog poo comes to light. Fortunately, I avoided it, but it’s not a good thought to have, after you’ve lain flat out in the bushes trying to take a shot.

Third problem. If I want to write, do I wait until I’ve got a picture??

Finally, the worst problem of all. Having spent a pleasant morning wandering around the town and on the beach, experimenting with the camera and no doubt annoying local tradespeople and the donkeys, I cannot get the camera’s WiFi capability to talk to my iPad. Net result? Minimal photos, transferred by ‘old school’ tech.

Better get back to the drawing board. Literally.

[Editor’s Note. If you would like to see some of my amateurish efforts, please have a look at DGEye.wordpress.com. I will be posting my pictures over the next few days … ]

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

