The White Queen

So, the BBC’s new Sunday night historical crowd pleaser is rubbish, apparently. I’m really sorry about this, for lots of different reasons.

Firstly, this seemingly neglected period of British history is populated by some interesting and influential characters, both male and female. It would have been nice to see them properly fleshed out and their motives and behaviour explored and explained, in an accessible way.

Secondly, the BBC can do this sort of thing really well.

Thirdly, I’ve done everything I can to renounce my long held position as Britain’s worst ‘late adopter’ as far as new TV runs are concerned. I rarely see anything at the time it first goes out on the TV schedules. Looking at Rogers’ Innovation Adoption Life Cycle, my TV viewing is firmly in the ‘laggards’ category. Sadly, this means that I am ‘very conservative, have a small farm and capital, am the oldest and least educated of the population’ (*).

In reality, I think my TV viewing habits stem from the fact that I tend to read so much, including TV criticism. If something’s deemed bad, I’ve missed it. Never mind. If the critics issue rave reviews, I’ve missed it. Doh!

A few examples. We still have an unopened DVD boxed set of 24 lurking about. I’ve only just seen the first DVD of Downton Abbey. Missed Broadchurch, obviously.

This time, as far as The White Queen goes, I’d done everything properly. I’d bought the Radio Times, seen the advert and set up the satellite box to record the whole series. So, it’s sitting there waiting to go.

Unfortunately, it’s been trashed by critics from the ‘quality press’ and I can’t be bothered to watch it now.

Pass me a book, I’ll stick with the laggards.

(*) the model was originally used to look at farming practises.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The White Queen

  1. The White Queen is just a Mills and Boon novel loosely connected to some interesting historical events, DG. It’s really only an escapist romp and sticks very closely to Phillipa Gregory’s book.

    The dialogue is a bit dire ‘I must have you!’ … oh, puleeze! … and the two lead actors have very 21st century faces so it is hard to suspend disbelief. No Cate Blanchetts here sadly …

    Having said that it whiles away an hour and helps one relax even with posey, pouty, toe curling love scenes.

    And as for reviews? You are better off making up your own mind, chuck. I never let anyone tell me what to watch … they may be having a bad hair day and you could miss something enjoyable 🙂

    • Hi Angie. So true! I’ve just re-read my post and I think I’m guilty of the most dreadful laziness regarding my TV viewing …
      PS saw your post on Interesting Literature re: Ulysses. I’ve tried to read that book countless times and I’ve never finished it – I’ve always found it a total drag. Everytime I see that opening sentence, I just get a sinking feeling. I’ve thought about it again today and the only thing that came in to my mind was ‘over boiled cabbage’. Now, I appreciate that’s a bit odd, but clearly this book has an effect, not intended by jolly old James Joyce. I think I’ll give it a miss and fire up Phillipa Gregory instead.

Leave a Reply

