Strange Tales of Great Service

Today, I’ve experienced, three entirely unrelated instances of good customer service. This is such a rarity in its genuine form, that I felt compelled to write about it.

First up, staff at my local Caffe Nero. Cheerful, smiling and offered, repeatedly, to carry my tray for me (probably saw me doing the ‘coffee in the lap’ thing the other week and have risk assessed me appropriately: Danger to self and others). As I left, they thanked me for my custom.

Second on the list, my local garage. I am lucky enough to own an ancient sports car. I love it, but sadly, I think she’s going to have to go, as my driving future is an entire unknown. Having explained my driving problem to the garage, they suggested that they could come and pick the car up, do whatever needed doing and then bring it home for me. How fab! The mechanic who brought my car back, then offered to drive me into town, so I didn’t have to catch the bus. Thank you, again!

The final nomination for customer service par excellence, goes to a lady who runs one of the big make-up counters, in my local Boots.  Now, this lady is a prime conduit for news and other information about things that are going on around the town. A purchase here involves extensive testing of everything in sight (if my daughter is with me) and an exchange of friendly …. let’s be honest, gossip.

All of these instances highlight two key things: a desire to listen to the customer and a willingness to ‘put something’ genuinely into that company-customer relationship. Net result? Where will I continue to buy my make up, drink coffee and get my car fixed?

No surprises, there.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

