The Bookworm

This week, I have been mainly reading, reading, reading.  I am eating words for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I’ve always been a voracious reader, but this week, I’ve gone mad.

First up, Joe Orton’s plays. Moving nicely through these. Currently working on the darkly mischieveous, Entertaining Mr. Sloane.
[Editor’s Note: I’ve tried searching on WordPress for other bloggers writing about Joe Orton and I came up with just two posts, one of which was mine. I’m hoping I’ve searched incorrectly. It would be a sad loss if Joe has disappeared below the radar.]

Late last week, I picked up three Peter Lovesey novels at a local bookshop, for the princely sum of £5. These were blessed with excellent reviews from The Times, but this wasn’t what made me pick them up. I’ve read many of Mr. Lovesey’s books and I’ve always enjoyed them. The ‘Sergeant Cribb’ series was probably my favourite (backed up by an excellent adaptation for TV, by Granada in 1979) but ‘Peter Diamond’ of Bath CID is coming up on the inside. I’m now on the third of the three books, the mysterious Skeleton Hill.

I’m also browsing a book on modern theatre and am toying with a book on the history of sixties Britain. I’m not sure about this last one. The reviews are excellent and the subject matter interesting, but … there’s something about the text layout which doesn’t make this easy on the eye.

Next stop? Better get down to Specsavers.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

