The Car Is King

Looking at the calendar, it’s now been three months since I last drove a car. And frankly, I’m nearly ready to crack.

This weekend was terrible. No horse riding, for a start. Then having decided to go shopping on Sunday, I discovered about ten minutes before I set off that there are no bus services in my area on a Sunday. How is this possible? Now, if I was living in the village where I used to live, zero transport links wouldn’t have been a surprise. Just a price to pay for having deer grazing in your front garden. But I live in an urban environment, with houses in every direction.

So, a choice. Expensive taxi or a long walk (there and back)? As I was feeling fairly bloody minded about the Council’s desire to keep me penned in my home, I decided to walk. Going was OK, but coming back, with two whacking great bags of shopping in the blooming shopping trolley made me realise why I love my car so much. It’s not just about comfort and convenience, but time. In a car the whole thing would have been done in an hour. Instead, I ended up on a marathon three hour trip which left me with a strong desire to lie on the sofa for the rest of the day.

Here’s to the car and the day when I can reclaim the road.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Car Is King

  1. When I was 15 I was kicked by a horse which resulted in serious knee injury. I couldn’t really walk normally for a couple of years on/off (recurring injury) and since then I relish the possibility to just get up and use my both legs and conquer the world πŸ˜‰ When we lived in Portugal our nearest bigger shop with any form of choice was an hour walk away and a local supermarket (with very little choice) 30 min walk away. We did both of those trips regularly for over 8 months and I think that in some way it’s reviving to know there is no need for petrol, machines, or for dependency to stop us from getting on our feet and do what we want to do.
    Having said all this, I am with you on time factor πŸ˜‰ Some things are better done by a quick car journey πŸ™‚ Hope you can drive soon.

    • Hi. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve very glad to be able to walk. Sometimes, though, you can just have too much of it and I’m always in a desperate hurry to do stuff. Hence, teeth grinding!
      Best wishes
      DG
      PS liked the look of your recent course (especially the mechanical horse). If / when my neck gets straighter, I’ll be looking out for more of these days, if you plan to run them again.

Leave a Reply

