Horse Riding (Without A Horse)

Sadly, there will be no horsey activities to report on until late next week.

My chauffeur (husband) is away and the stables are too difficult to get to on public transport. A ridiculous situation as I have two cars sitting on the drive and a clean driving licence in my bag.

However, dystonia cannot be denied. So, how can this non-riding time be constructively used to improve future equine activities?

Firstly, I shall consider this week as a ‘theoretical training’ week and will take advantage of all the TV programmes that Horse and Country have thoughtfully provided. Why not start with something to inspire and delight, such as Carl Hester’s wonderful Fantastic Elastic, for example?

Secondly, I will have a trawl through one of my favourite schooling books and see what exercises I might be able to realistically do, bearing in mind my neck problems and the ability of my current ride. The book I use for this is called 101 Dressage Exercises – For Horse and Rider (by Jec Aristotle Ballou). I found this book on a stand at Badminton a couple of years ago, and I’ve used it a lot. The exercises are beautifully laid out, A4 size, with instructions. The book is ring bound, with a hole punched in the pages, so that you could even hang it up to look at whilst you were schooling, if required.

Thirdly, get the the calendar out and make a plan. I need to do as much as possible in June, for example, because I shall be away in July and the effects of my current Botox treatment will be starting to wear off then too.

Finally, I must, I must, … Give my riding boots a good clean and polish. Note to self: keeping stuff clean and well looked after saves money in the end.

Have a good week.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Horse Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

