Facebook Users Go Down to 1.1 Billion – 1

This week, I’ve decided to close down my non-Dystonia Girl Facebook page. Drastic? No, not really.  I’m a confirmed blogger.

I just don’t ‘get’ Facebook, but this could be because I’m a techno-duffer and I still haven’t worked out how to get the best out of it.

If I have something to say to my friends, I’ll phone them up. If it needs to be quick, text anyone? And, I don’t need to put my exact birthday date into the phone to get the message delivered. Although, really, why worry about trying to protect your own personal data, when government employees are quite happy to dish it out willy-nilly? (Look what happened to all that Child Benefit information shared to the world. Someone, somewhere is just biding their time before they use my national insurance number).

However, I am clearly in a minority. Facebook recently reported it’s first quarter results and stated that it had 1.1 billion monthly active users around the world. That’s a lot of people. And, a lot of responsibility. According to some, Facebook has some unpleasant questions to answer regarding how it deals with offensive postings. And that’s the dilemma. Continue to use it because of it’s connectivity or pull out because it seems to allow individuals to maintain distasteful pages? I don’t know the answer to this, so Dystonia Girl’s page stays up, for the moment.

“Love or loathe it, you can never leave it or lose it”- Duluth (Gore Vidal)

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

