Always Read Your Horoscope

Just looked at my horoscope for today, and along with all the normal drivel, one statement stuck out: “… Pay special attention to your intuition today, …”. Hmm … Knew I should have stayed in bed.

Everything started to go wrong, even before the Sun was up.

The Offspring, no doubt excited at the prospect of going off to stay with highly indulgent relatives, would not go to sleep last night. After repeatedly being berated for shouting that she ‘couldn’t go to sleep’, she finally nodded off around midnight. I uttered a sigh of relief and got into bed myself. About 2 seconds later, I was woken up by someone tapping my arm.

“Wassamatter? Where glasses?” (I’m not coherent at 3am).
“Mummy, I can’t go to sleep”
“Ok, I’ll come and sit with you”
And off we trundle to the Offspring’s room.

Two hours later, I finally fall asleep, wondering how I’m supposed to get up at 6.30am and go to work.

At 6.25am. Ring-a-ding-ding. Rise and shine. Mr. Alarm Clock goes off. Oh boy. It took a full 10 minutes to peel my eyelids open and shamble downstairs. Cats are already assembled, awaiting breakfast. Oh dear.

A day packed with meetings just adds to the horror. Tiredness seems to make my dystonic problems worse and I sit holding my head politely (and painfully) in place for about four hours. First two hours are with people who’ve never met me before, so they’ve obviously gone away with a good impression of me (“Who’s the bird with her head on back to front?”).

Final indignity for the day. Broke the long journey home with a consolatory trip to Cafe Nero. Sat down with The Times and a nice cuppa. Jolly old dystonic head jiggles as I go to drink and I end up with half a pint of coffee in my lap. How the heck am I going to get out of this one? Having quickly scanned the cafe for the new IT people I met this morning (“Who’s the bird with her head on back to front and coffee in her lap?”), I wrap my mac around myself and head to the door.

Time for a hasty exit.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Read Your Horoscope

  1. Oh bless you, DG … that dystonia is a bugger, isn’t it? Still, you should get a good nights sleep tonight and then you’ll unleash Hell on the world tomoz. That’s right, isn’t it?:)

    • Hi Angie. Thank you – I can only hope. My worry is that I have peace and quiet, the cats for company and I’ve got sole charge of the remote control for the TV – I’ll probably be up ’til 2am, surfing the rubbish on satellite! Best wishes, DG.

Leave a Reply

