The Value of Teamwork

Today is ‘Day 2’ of the half term holidays. And it’s pouring with rain. My child and I sit on the kitchen sofa, one reading (me) and the other iPad-ing (the child). We only have two mission critical things to achieve today and neither of us dare mention them. The child hates one and I loathe the other, so we’re doing anything rather than ‘making a start’.

So, what’s the problem?

Item 1. The child’s bête noir. Homework from school. Lots of it, including the requirement to make a large poster about the river Nile. This means paint. And paint means mess. The added frisson to all this is the need for the whole lot to be completed today, as the Offspring and husband are travelling to Scotland for a few days tomorrow. This means that mummy is going to have to get out the pointy project management stick.

Item 2. Mummy’s bête noir. Packing suitcases. Over the years, I’ve been lucky enough to travel all over the world and I still can’t make a sensible stab at putting something in a suitcase. I’ve even been known to buy my clothes at the airport in an attempt to circumvent this, but snooty concierges making remarks about “Just checking in the carrier bag, madam?”, put a stop to this. And now I’ve got to pack the Offspring’s stuff for a trip to darkest Scotland.

Two more hours gallop by. I suggest that we ‘do something, after lunch’, to which the Offspring immediately agrees.

Lunch over, we slump back on the sofa, return to our previous pursuits and watch the rain come down some more. A fiendish plan drifts across my brain, for a nano second … Why don’t I do the Offspring’s homework, and let her do the packing? Of course, I reject this idea, but not as quickly as I’d expect. So, time to put something in a case.

My daughter generally chooses clothes to wear on the basis of liking the individual components, rather than worrying about the overall, combined end result. This speeds things up considerably. Packing done. Tick.

Homework next. Four hours wrestling with English grammar and fractions leaves me wondering where last Christmas’s unopened bottle of gin went. Just the Nile poster to go.

It’s now 8.30pm and it’s nearly all done. The rain’s finally stopped and all I have to do, is think about how much I’m going to miss them both. Roll on Sunday.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Value of Teamwork

Leave a Reply

