The Guinea Pig Goes to Hospital

Today, I’ve been to see my neurologist regarding progress on treating my twisty neck. Realistically, I think it’s going to be a long, hard year before I start to see any real improvement, or maybe that’s just the effect of the travel talking. Yes, it’s been tricky … and expensive.

My appointment involved travelling to the north side of a large city, a shade under 28 miles away from where I live. No big deal you’d think, but let me explain.

At the last minute, my transport arrangements (i.e. someone giving me a lift) fell through, which meant getting there under my own steam.

Problem number one. Time of appointment meant I would have to leave at such a time in the morning, that I could not get my daughter to school, so she would have to come too. Not ideal.

Our itinerary

Taxi from home to rail station. Cost £5.20.
Return rail tickets to hospital’s closest mainline station. £15.00.
Taxi from station to hospital. £15.00.
Taxi from hospital back to station. £13.20.
Walk across town to bus ‘depot’. Free.
Bus-fare on ‘special deal’ tickets from town, back home. £1.80

Total cost, before sustenance? £50.20. To this you can add lunch (£14.45), drinks on train (£6.50) and miscellaneous rubbish (£1.20), giving a total for the day of a whopping £72.35!

On the face of it, £72 to see an expert neurologist, is without doubt, excellent value for money. But you can see how such transport costs could be a major barrier for people needing to access these essential health services.

By the time we finally got home, both of us were exhausted and I seemed to have volunteered to be a guinea pig in a neurophysiotherapy project.

Oh well.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, transport and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

