Raymond Chandler and Dashiel Hammett: Who’s the Daddy?

Back in March, I was signed off sick from my desk based role…. The strain of constantly trying to keep my head straight had got too much and an invitation to sit at a PC was akin to being invited to a session in a well equipped torture chamber.

After staring out of the window for a week wondering what on earth I was going to do, I decided to start reading Raymond Chandler’s books.  I’d read them all before, a long time ago and a re-perusal seemed in order.  Glad I did.  Awesome writing.  Slick, well crafted phrases underpinned with wit and pace.  Very nice.

Sadly, I reached the end of Mr Chandler, so after another week of staring out of the window, I moved on to Dashiel Hammett.  Not bad, but like drinking hooch after fine wine – no subtlety. Apologies to any fans out there, but the body count in Red Harvest? What was he thinking?

As the pain level’s dropped, my brain seems to be working better, so I’ve now moved on to Ibsen’s plays, with some good, old fashioned inter-war adventure stories as light relief. Who knows, maybe a spell of writing poor literary criticism might stimulate something in my head to compensate for the havoc that dystonia creates.  Here’s hoping.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raymond Chandler and Dashiel Hammett: Who’s the Daddy?

  1. Joe Outofthepast says:

    “A good reader, a major reader, an active and creative reader is a rereader.” Vladimir Nabokov.
    I know there are plenty of great books I haven’t read, but I have stopped fighting it: I am a re-reader. Thanks for the post. I’m going to scroll up now and read it again.

    • Hi. Yes, it’s amazing what a re-read can do. Nuances and important points missed first time around get picked up and result in a better understanding of what the author was thinking. I love it and stopped feeling guilty sbout it a long time ago! Regards DG

Leave a Reply

