Finally back in the Saddle

Thanks to mad impact of dystonia, my neck is pretty badly twisted.  This means that my chin keeps wanting to be friends with my shoulder.  Not helpful when riding!

i’d temporarily stopped horsey activities whilst I started Botox treatment, in the hope that a miracle would happen and my neck would straighten.  This hasn’t happened (but it may do, in a year or so), so it’s time to winch my backside into the breeches and on to a horse.

My riding school have been great and yesterday, I went out for a hack (with someone walking on my ‘good’ side).  Lovely fields, lovely weather, lovely pony.  Finished off with 15 minutes in the indoor school and managed to trot and canter (left rein only), which I never believed I’d be able to do.  So, looks like this will be my routine for the summer or until my neck straightens out and I can go back to my usual diet of flat work (which I love).

Non-horsey husband very helpful (providing taxi service to stables).  Offspring content to bumble round stables and feed horsey treats to the occupants.  Very pleasant.

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog and do lots of other things too. Lives with, but is not defined by, a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Dystonia, Family Life, Horse Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

