Jamaica Inn

imageWith our holiday to Cornwall fast approaching, it seemed appropriate to blow the dust off my old copy of Jamaica Inn. I say old, as my copy’s front page bears my childishly scrawled name, then a date of some thirty years ago. Jane Seymour’s face beams out from the cover. I wish I compared as favourably, now as then…

However, I digress, as this post is really about Daphne du Maurier’s pot-boiler.

First published in 1936, this tale of wreckers, smugglers and general early 19th century low life, rips along at a cracking pace.  I couldn’t put it down and finished it in just over a day.

Great writing? Well, there’s a lot of rain, me hearties. But then I guess it can be pretty stormy out on Bodmin Moor.  However, what it lacked (for me) in literary niceties, Mary Yellan, Joss Merlyn and a fine assortment of ruffians made up for in bucketfuls.

To compare and contrast? Rebecca is back on my list of re-reads.

[Picture courtesy of http://www.jamaicainn.co.uk

About Dystonia Girl

Horse rider who loves to blog. Follow me on my journey back to competitive riding, whilst supporting a serious writing addiction and living with a rare neurological condition called Dystonia.
This entry was posted in Literature, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jamaica Inn

  1. anitadresden says:

    Aye Dystonia Wench (just in keeping with the atmosphere), I found Daphne du Maurier a difficult read. I like to think that after 40 years of reading and writing that I know something of he art although one is constantly learning, but in Rebecca I found too much wordiness however I will go to page 30 or the third chapter,if I am still struggling then I will put said book aside, acknowledge Ms. du Mauriers literary excellence is way above me and move on :)

    • Hi Anita. I’d never suggest sticking with something if it wasn’t enjoyable, as that makes reading a chore (and a bore) rather than a delight, but I’d definitely try and stick with Rebecca. I haven’t read it for years, but I still remember the opening lines. You won’t be disappointed.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Best wishes
      DG

Leave a Reply

